November 6, 2014

Forcing users to share post on social networks before allowing download of code

Image copyright by http://www.infotuts.com/

A programming tutorials website http://www.infotuts.com/ provides downloadable source code at the end of the articles. But before downloading, visitor must share the post on a social networking site like Twitter, Facebook or Google Plus using one the links provided.

The text reads 'Please support us with your love by sharing this tutorial, use one of the buttons below to unlock the content' with three buttons which open to reveal the button to be clicked. Also, the 'Download Code' heading in between two closed locks.

This is the first time I have seen a mandatory share to allow download of content and I don't like it. It feels like a mild extortion.

February 8, 2012

Facebook: While Uploading Files (.pdf) In Message Window, No Progress/Success Feedback Is Given

Issues
It led me to upload the same file twice and I think other users might also be having this issue.

Suggestions
  • To display a list of successfully uploaded files, possibly with the option of removing them.
  • In addition, to display a progress bar, or a confirmation message after successful upload of file.
Background
"Feedback: In design, it is important to show the effect of an action. Without feedback, one is always wondering whether anything has happened.

Maybe the button wasn't pushed hard enough; maybe the machine has stopped working; maybe it is doing the wrong thing. Without feedback, we turn equipment off at improper times or restart unnecessarily, losing all our recent work. Or we repeat the command and end up having the operation done twice, often to our detriment.

Feedback is critical"

-p xii, The Design Of Everyday Things by Donald Norman

January 22, 2012

Allowing Users To Edit Data After Submission

I have noticed that many websites provide chance to user to edit data after it has been submitted.

These include Gmail's send email undo option, Sedo.com's one-minute window to edit the message for transfer agent (while buying or selling domains):

Gmail
This setting can be activated from the gear icon on top right > Mail Settings > General > Undo Send.

You can choose from five to thirty seconds.

What happens is that, after Send an email message, the window closes and a message appears in top-center giving the option to undo the send, and open the editor again.

Sedo
While buying or selling domains using sedo.com, we may interact with the transfer agent using text. It gives a one-minute window to edit the message.

January 13, 2012

Words Of Appreciation For UI/UX Guys

  • "Do you like coding user interfaces? If so, and if you're skilled at it, consider yourself lucky. User interface design is finicky work, easy to criticize, and hard to do well, especially when internationalization and accessibility are taken into account", p1, Programming Interviews Exposed, 2nd Edition 
  • "Designing, building, and maintaining a great Web site isn't easy. It's like golf: a handful of ways to get the ball in hole, a million ways not to. Anyone who gets it even half right has my admiration.", Steve Krug, p7, Don't Make Me Think, 2nd Edition

January 12, 2012

Contact Me, Message Board

Dear Reader, I am always looking forward to hear from you.

Contact me on
Email me at gopal1035@gmail.com
 Or, post a public message in the comments at the end of page